ECMI participated in the conference “IFG on the Map 2010”

The event constituted the annual conference of the Department of Borger Region Studies (IFG) at the University of Southern Denmark, Campus Sonderborg. This year‟s special focus was set on the topic „Celebrate Diversity‟. The conference addressed issues such as cross border cooperation, regional and organizational diversity management.

ECMI was represented by Senior Research Associate PD Dr. Jan Asmussen, who talked about „Celebrating Division or Celebrating Diversity - Different Layers of European Regionalism‟. Europe‟s borderlands have always been characterized by a mixture of cooperation and conflict. Dr. Asmussen addressed this issue by using the example of Greek-Turkish relations in Cyprus and the Aegean. Showing that while Cyprus exemplifies the celebration of division, Greco-Turkish relations in the Aegean are by contrast a pure example of grassroots diversity that cannot be celebrated enough.

Dr. Asmussen is heading ECMI‟s research cluster on Conflict and Security. The cluster aims to enhance European security by means of sustainable trust and reconciliation. The cluster has a particular focus on research and revision of reconciliation policies in Europe.

The conference concluded with a presentation by the chairman of the Committee for culture and Business of the municipality of Sønderborg Stephan Kleinschmidt (Member of the party of German Minorities in Denmark “Slesvigsk Parti”) and Project Manager Else Christensen Redzepovic. The concept of celebrating diversity is the underlying mission of Sønderborg‟s efforts to win the title of European Capital of culture for 2017 in close cooperation with the border region of Sønderjylland-Schleswig was discussed. ECMI is advising the project.

See here for reference to IFG on the Map 2010.
IFG Website


Place and Date: Sonderborg, 27 October 2010
For further information, please contact:
Jan Asmussen, asmussen[@]ecmi.de

ECMI founders:

The German Federal GovernmentThe German
Federal Government
The Danish GovernmentThe Danish
The Federal State Schleswig-HolsteinThe Federal State