The ECMI has extensive cooperation with multiple partners across Europe and beyond. It is in ongoing communication with its circle of partners and experts.

Advisory Council

  • Dr. Jennifer Jackson Preece (Chairperson)
    Associate Professor of Nationalism at the European Institute & Department of International Relations, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Prof. Florian Bieber
    Professor at The University of Graz and Centre for East European Studies, Graz
  • Mr. Boriss Cilevics
    Deputy of the Saeima (Parliament of Latvia) and a member of the Latvian delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.
  • Prof. François Grin
    Director of the Observatoire Langues Formation, University of Geneva, Switzerland. Professor of Economics at the School of Translation and Interpretation, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Prof. David J. Galbreath
    Professor of International Security, University of Bath, UK
  • Prof. Rainer Hofmann
    Co-Director of Wilhelm Merton Centre,
    Professor at Johann-Wolfgang Goethe University, Frankfurt
  • Prof. James Hughes
    Professor of Political Science at London School of Economics, UK
  • Prof. Will Kymlicka
    Professor, Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy at Queen's University, Kingston, Canada
  • Prof. Stefan Oeter
    Professor of Law at the University of Hamburg, Germany and President of the Advisory Committee to the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages (ECRML)
  • Prof. John Packer
    Professor of Law, Director, Human Rights Research and Education Centre, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Prof. Levente Salat
    Professor of Political Science at Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj, Romania
  • Dr. Gwendolyn Sasse
    Director, Centre of East European and International Studies (Zentrum für Osteuropa- und internationale Studien, ZOiS), Berlin
  • Prof. David Smith
    Professor of Baltic History and Politics, School of Social and Political Science, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Prof. Michal Vašečka
    Bratislava International School of Liberal Arts (BISLA) and Bratislava Policy Institute (BPI), as well as Member of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI)
  • Prof. Stefan Wolff
    Professor of International Security, University of Birmingham, UK

ECMI Consultants

Dr. Tamara Hoch 

Academic Consultant

Dr Tamara Hoch obtained her PhD in 2014 at the Department of Society and Globalisation at Roskilde University in Denmark. Her thesis, entitled “Reinventing national minority rights through European Integration: from top-down to bottom-up Europeanisation” deals with changes in domestic policies pertaining to national minorities as triggered by the EU and the Council of Europe. At the same time, her thesis also considered how a changing European context influences actorness and self-identification among minority actors as they explore new levels and norms. As such her research is firmly rooted in contemporary European Studies, comparative politics and minority studies, and her knowledge is especially strong on minority rights within an EU context, which she has dealt with in most of her publications. Throughout her PhD, Tamara was involved in teaching within courses of EU-studies and Global studies at Roskilde University and she also spent a few months at Exeter University as a visiting researcher. Tamara also has experience with the ECMI, primarily by teaching within the European Minority Regime Seminar which is offered for the students of European Studies Master Programme at the European University of Flensburg.  And she has also contributed with a chapter on Europeanisation and minority rights in Minority Issues in Europe: Rights, Concepts and Policy (2013), which is part of the course material for the aforementioned ECMI seminar. After completed PhD, Tamara has been involved in teaching at Roskilde University and the South Danish University (Odense) within courses on EU politics and Global Organisations.  At the ECMI, she is the editor of the Journal of Ethnopolitics and Minority Issues in Europe and she will also support the ongoing designation of the Minority Map and Timeline of Europe (MMTE). 


Forrest Kilimnik 

Project Leader/Editor

Following graduation from the Erasmus Mundus Master’s Course “Global Studies – A European Perspective” with his detailed thesis titled The War of Laws: South Ossetia’s Movement for Self-Determination Between the Russian and Georgian Fronts, Forrest joined the ECMI regional office in Tbilisi in April 2010. Following his internship, Forrest collaborated with Tom Trier, director of ECMI - Caucasus, and George Tarkhan-Mouravi, co-director of the Institute for Policy Studies in Tbilisi, in writing a monograph on Meskhetian Turks and their planned repatriation to Georgia. From August 2010 onwards, he has reconceptualized and redesigned the ‘ethnopolitical map’ project based at the ECMI headquarters in Flensburg as the new interactive research website titled the Minority Map and Timeline of Europe (MMTE). Forrest is also currently a research associate at the University of Leipzig and has undertaken extensive schooling in the Czech Republic, Poland, Germany, Japan and the United States with a concentration on pan-European issues, particularly in Central and Eastern Europe as well as the former Soviet Union.


ECMI Founders